Church History


The Mt. Calvary Missionary Baptist Church was established under the unction of the Holy Spirit, and organized by the late Rev. R.H. Howard, June 22, 1965.  The first service was held in the city “Mission Building” at 15th & Monroe St. on June 23rd, 1965. We pay homage to the dedicated pioneers of this church to include the late Deacon E.K. Curry, the late Deacon Jack D. Easter, the late Luther K. Gary, the late Bro. David Hall, the late Rev. Julius W. Colbert, and the late Sis. M.L Colbert who hearkened unto the voice of God.  We are grateful to the obedient man and woman of God, the late Bro. Dawson and Sis Lula Dawson, who allowed the church to move to their house at 1716 S. 14th St., September 26, 1965. 


“And the Lord added to the church daily such as should be saved,” Acts 2:47.


“And I will give you pastors according to mine own heart which shall feed you with knowledge and understanding,” Jeremiah 3:15.


According to the Word of God, the late Rev. Julius W. Colbert was installed as pastor on September 26, 1966.  Under the spiritual leadership of Rev. Colbert, the church membership grew. On August 4, 1967, the church stepped out on faith and a down payment was made on a property site at 15th & Jefferson St.  While waiting to come into possession of the property, services were held in the revival center, which was then known as “Rev. Turr’s church”.  The doors opened for worship at the church’s new location at 1503 S.W. Jefferson St. on October 13, 1967.  God continued to richly bless the church with many blessings untold as we grew in favor with God and man. There was a steady increase in membership. September 16, 1979 the groundbreaking ceremony for the new church was held at 15th & Jefferson St. After 18 years of diligent service and ill health, Rev. Colbert, a spiritual giant, resigned as pastor on February 14, 1984.  Rev. Carl Turner, a ram in the bush, served as interim leader from February to August 1984.  Mt. Calvary continued to thrive like a tree planted by the rivers of water.


 Under the leadership of Rev. Colbert the following acknowledged their call into the ministry: Deacon E.K. Curry and Bro. L. Gary was placed on trial for the work of a deacon.  Under Rev. Colbert’s pastorate the following served as deacons: Deacons David Hall, Jack D. Easter, E.K. Curry, Luther Gary, and J. Young, who are all deceased; and Deacon Thomas Franklin.


October 1984, Rev. Landis W. Odum was installed as pastor.  Steady spiritual and financial growth was wrought by the hand of God under Rev. Odum’s leadership.  The church motto was adopted: Yesterday is behind us. Tomorrow is not promised. TODAY, We move forward in Jesus’ Name.   The church mortgage was paid in full and with continued growth in membership came the need for a larger edifice.  After much prayer and supplication and knowing God to be faithful, we stepped out on faith once again and moved to our present location 902 S.W. Lee Blvd.


“A city that sitteth on a hill cannot be hid,” Matthew 5:14. 


Under the leadership of Rev. Odum the following acknowledged their call into the ministry and were licensed: Ministers Ronnie Stewart, Woodrow Wilson, Linnie Baker, Jr, Linnie Baker III, Ortha R. Edwards, Vernon Young, A.B. Walker, Kenneth Foreman, Ricky B. Williams, Charles Jones, G. Bowens, Kevin Toles, Bobby Easter, Harold W. Johnson, Rodney Grace, and Hayward Moore. Under Rev. Odum’s pastorate the following were ordained for the work of deacon: Bobby Easter, Thomas Merrell, Hayward Moore, Phillip Dickerson, Leland Shipley (deceased), Ben Betancourt (deceased), James Sterling, and Johhny Rawls. Rev. Odum humbly served 21 years as pastor until the Lord called him home September 26, 2005.


The church was without a spiritual leader once again. Mt. Calvary stood as a tree rooted and grounded knowing that God promised to never leave us nor forsake us. According to the Master plan, Rev. Jackie D. Brooks was installed as pastor, May 7, 2006.  Under his pastorate the church flourished with a spirit of excellence.  The sanctuary was completely remodeled to include the fellowship hall, and the church color was changed from burgundy to purple representative of royalty.  The church vision and mission statement were penned by Rev. Brooks. The Vision of the Mt. Calvary Baptist Church is to spread the Gospel, to aggressively seek and save those that are apart from Christ.  It is the Vision of this church to offer a God-Centered, Spirit-filled environment that will allow new, as well as old members to grow in Spiritual knowledge and power, to fulfill their God-given purpose, and live to their full potential.   MISSION: SEEK  SAVE  SHAPE  SERVE  SUPPORT.


For we know that “where there is no vision the people perish,” Proverbs 29:18. 




Under the leadership of Rev. Brooks, the following acknowledged their call into the ministry: Jennifer Young, and Denise Turner. Under Rev. Brooks’ pastorate, Sylveste Haughton was ordained for the work of deacon. Rev. Brooks made a deposit in the earth completing the mission that God had assigned him. The Lord called him home February 26, 2010.


As a result of the past spiritual teachings and guidance, the Lord blessed Mt. Calvary with many spiritual sons that carry, preach and teach the Good News, the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Some have gone on to their eternal home, some have gone on to pastor their own flock, and a few remain here at Mt. Calvary. The following pastor their own flock: Pastors Leroy Adams, A.B. Walker, A. Jubert, G. Bryant, and D.D. McHenry.


Our current pastor, Rev. Dr. Namon Melvin, Sr., a man sent to do the will of God, was installed as pastor on March 29, 2011.…”for the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, and for the edifying of the body of Christ,“ Ephesians 4:12


The church family is overjoyed and ready for continued growth.  We anticipate the Lord taking us from glory to glory under the spiritual leadership and guidance of Rev. Melvin.  We are more than over comers, coming through obstacles, tempestuous storms, and rains., but God.  We have learned to totally trust God and continue to walk by faith.  With our current shepherd we know that “eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him,” 1Corinthians 2:9.


Under the pastorate of Dr. Melvin, we presently have the following ministers serving: Ministers Hayward Moore, and Jacqueline Turner. The following deacons are serving under the leadership of Rev. Melvin: Deacons Thomas Franklin, Sylvester Haughton, Bobby Lofton, Johnnie McPherson, Johnny Phillips, Derrick Simmons, Herschel Turner, and Kenneth Reese.


Weekly Service


Sunday School  9:30 a.m.                                          (Will resume in the near future)

Worship  11:00 a.m.



Bible Study  6:30 p.m.

We Invite you to Join Us at

902 SW Lee Blvd

Lawton, OK 73501


Via our Facebook Livestream on Wednesday evening and Sunday Mornings; or you may listen in on our conference line 1-760-548-9288


Contact Us

By Phone (580) 355-0441 

Send a brief message with our contact form.

Print | Sitemap
© Mount Calvary Missionary Baptist Church

This website was created using IONOS MyWebsite.